Happy Birthday, Jhumpa Lahiri!

Quick info from Wikipedia: “Nilanjana Sudeshna “Jhumpa” Lahiri (Bengali: ঝুম্পা লাহিড়ী; born on July 11, 1967) is an American author. Lahiri has been selected as the winner of the 29th PEN/Malamud Award for Excellence in the Short story. Lahiri’s debut short story collection Interpreter of Maladies (1999) won the 2000 Pulitzer Prize for Fiction, and her first novel, The Namesake (2003), was adapted into the popular film of the same name.”

Here are some quotes of hers to celebrate!

“The essential dilemma of my life is between my deep desire to belong and my suspicion of belonging.”

“When I sit down to write, I don’t think about writing about an idea or a given message. I just try to write a story which is hard enough.”

“I think that what I have been truly searching for as a person, as a writer, as a thinker, as a daughter, is freedom. That is my mission. A sense of liberty, the liberty that comes not only from self-awareness but also from letting go of many things. Many things that weigh us down.”

“Immersing myself in Shakespeare’s plays, reading them closely under the guidance of a brilliant, plain-spoken professor changed my life: It opened up the great questions; it put my petty problems into perspective. It got me out of bed in the mornings and kept me in the library late into the night.”

“Surely it is a magical thing for a handful of words, artfully arranged, to stop time. To conjure a place, a person, a situation, in all its specificity and dimensions. To affect us and alter us, as profoundly as real people and things do.”

 

This entry was posted in Author Birthdays, Quotes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

